It’s a COMMAND NOT A REQUEST!

JOSHUA 1:9

I would not have made a good soldier. I do not take commands well!!! Do you?  “But, why? or “What if” “Right now or can it wait a minute?” “Is it necessary to do it that way?” “I don’t want to. . .” “I can’t right now, but I’ll get back to you.” “NO!” I consider myself independent, not disobedient. Well, I’m trying to give myself the benefit of the doubt :/ 

The truth is that it’s a command because it is necessary to live here. As I think about where I am and where I am going, my Commander and Chief, is commanding me so I’ll survive the battle. He does not want me going down, fatally wounded. He needs me in the fight without all my “peanut gallery” comments. It’s a matter of “life” or “death” or He wound not have stated it with a strong command. Some of Paul’s language to the early church were more gentle. . .”I urge you, I encourage you. . .”

I’d love to tell you I’m lined up for the fight. I’m not at that stage yet. Right now, I’m just struggling to recognize Who is in Command and hear  the words as commands and responding appropriately. As in taking God, seriously, and following through without question or hesitation. 

What more can I say except, “Amen, let it be so with me and you!”