Petals of Promise: The Line

tumblr_lr9h4t9tgr1qhhm8co1_400

 Dedicated to Ashlyn, balance that line and dismount into your Jesus’ strong arms

The Line

Do you create me to live beyond the line?

You’ve got my attention.  You straighten me on my feet with your words.  I’m walking and working in the dust towards a horizon you set.

There is darkness clouding the skies and my soul.

Are the wings of your spirit creating it?  It closes in on my life.  Only you can peel away the shadow of the night.

I wait.

You strike away the tenebrous in a flash.  You light the firmament and the darkest corners of my soul with blinding light. I cannot look rightly into your glory, nor can I walk without the light you create.

It is the soft glow of twilight I seek over eternal waters.

You design the boundaries between light and dark.

Just as you wrap up the waters in your cloak,

You wrap me at day’s end in your love. You draw more than pictures of black and white.  I praise you for colorizing my world and anointing my soul with an infinite palate of pigments.

“You introduced your glory, to every living creature on earth.  And they started singing the first song to ever be heard.  They sang for you.  You make all things new.”

You give me ears to hear the melody of your praise!

You give me vision to see the creation of your glory.

I want to trace the work of your hand.  I want to tread the high places of the earth with you, Lord.  My heart wants to do more than take baby steps into the watercolors of your strokes.

I want to fly, Lord, on wings of the morning, to the furthest horizon.

Do you create me to live beyond the line?

Isaiah 48:13, Isaiah 60:8, Job 37:3, Job 26:10, Proverbs 30:4, Steven Curtis Chapman, “You Make All Things New,”  Psalm 19:1, Amos 4:13, Psalm 139:9
Inspired by The Dawn Treader, by C.S. Lewis

Let's Talk. . .